Chief Of Army Staff :- Highest Rank of the Indian Army

Chief Of Army Staff Flag

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) is the highest ranking officer of the Indian Army. He is also the head of the Indian Army headquarters. He is also the principal advisor to the Ministry of Defence and also the key military advisor of the President of India, the supreme commander of the forces of India.

The current Chief Of Army Staff is General Manoj Pande

Chief of Army Staff
Manoj Pande :- 28th Chief Of Army Staff


It was established in 1748 as the Commander-in-chief, India to command all the forces in India.After the war of 1857, the Commander in Chief became the supreme commander of the British Indian Army. The Commander in Chief was also in close contact with the Viceroy of India.

After the partition of India in 1947, the post was divided into :- Commander in Chief of Indian Army, Commander in Chief of Pakistan Army and the Commander in Chief of British forces in India and Pakistan.  

The designation was changed to “Chief of Army Staff” after the Commander in Chief Act of 1955. The office is based at South Block of the Central Secretariat at Raisina Hill, New Delhi.

The appointments to the office are made by the Appointments Committee of The Cabinet. They can serve the country for three years or till the age of 62, whichever comes earlier. 

Here’s the list of Commander in Chief, Indian Army :-

NameTook OfficeLeft Office Time in Office
General Sir Robert Mcgregor Macdonald Lockhart 15 August 194731 December 1947108 Days
General Francis Robert Roy Bucher 01 January 194820 June 1948171 Days.

Here’s the List of Chief Of Army Staff and Commander-in Chief, Indian Army :-

Name Took OfficeLeft OfficeTime in Office
General Francis Robert Roy Bucher21 June 194815 January 1949208 Days
General Kodandera Madappa Cariappa  15 January 194914 January 19533 Years and 365 days
General Maharaj Shri Rajendrasinjhi Jadeja14 January 19531 April 19552 Years and 77 Days

Here’s the list of Chief Of Army Staff :-

NameTook OfficeLeft OfficeTime in Office
General Maharaj Shri Rajendrasinjhi Jadeja01 April 195514 May 195543 Days
General Satyawant Mallana Srinagesh15 May 19557 May 19571 Year and 357 Days
General Kodandera Subayya Thimayya8 May 19577 May 19614 Years
General Pran Nath Thapar8 May 1961 19 November 19621 Year and 195 Days
General Jayanto Nath Chaudhuri20 November 19627 June 19663 Years and 199 Days
General Paramsiva Prabhakar Kumaramangalam8 June 19667 June 19692 Years and 364 Days
Fiels Marshal Sam Hormusji Framji Jamshedji Manekshaw 8 June 196915 January 19733 Years and 221 Days
General Gopal Gurunath Bewoor16 January 197331 May 19752 Years and 135 Days
General Tapishwar Narain Raina1 June 197531 May 19782 Years 364 Days
General Om Prakash Malhotra1 June 197831 May 19812 Years and 364 Days
General Kotikalapudi Venkata Krishna Rao1 June 198131 July 19831 Year and 364 Days
General Arunkumar Sridhar Vaidya 1 August 198331 January 19862 Years and 244 Days
General Krishnaswamy Sundarji 1 February 198631 May 19882 Years and 120 Days
General Vishwa Nath Sharma 1 June 198830 June 19902 Years and 29 Days
General Sunith Francis Rodrigues1 July 199030 June 19932 Years and 364 Days
General Bipin Chandra Joshi1 July 199319 November 19941 Year and 141 Days
General Shankar Roy Chowdhary 20 November 199430 September 19972 Years and 314 Days
General Ved Prakash Malik1 October 199730 September 20002 Years and 365 Days
General Sundararanjan Padmanabhan1 October 200031 December 20022 Years and 91 Days
General Nirmal Chander Vij1 January 200331 January 20052 Years and 30 Days
General Joginder Jaswant Singh 1 February 200530 September 20072 Years and 241 Days
General Deepak Kapoor1 October 200731 March 20102 Years and 181 Days
General Vijay Kumar Singh 1 April 201031 May 2012 2 Years and 60 Days
General Bikram Singh 1 June 2012 31 July 20142 Years and 60 Days
General Dalbir Singh Suhag1 August 201431 December 20162 Years and 152 Days
General Bipin Rawat 31 December 201631 December 20193 Years
General Manoj Mukund Narvane 31 December 201930 April 20222 Years and 120 Days
General Manoj Pande30 April 2022on going