India hosts the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

India hosts the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

Great news for Indian Cricket Fans!! as India is gonna be the host of biggest cricket tournament in the world- 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, a quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament contested by men’s national teams and organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is scheduled to be hosted by India during October and November 2023, and will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India. Three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011. Originally, the tournament was scheduled to be played from 9 February to 26 March 2023; but in July 2020, it was announced that the tournament would be delayed to an October–November window following the disruption of the qualification schedule due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

England are the defending champions, having won the previous edition in 2019.

Know about the rising star Surya Kumar Yadav

Qualification for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualification process is the edition of Cricket World Cup qualification for the 2023 Cricket World Cup and the introduction of a new qualification process. A series of cricket competitions will determine which countries will take part in the 2023 Cricket World Cup. In total, 32 countries are taking part in the qualification process, from which 10 will qualify for the World Cup.

The 32 teams are divided into three leagues—Super League, League 2 and Challenge League. Based on the results of the leagues, teams either directly qualify for the World Cup, are eliminated from World Cup qualification, or advance to other supplementary qualifying tournaments through which they can qualify for the World Cup. The supplementary qualifying tournaments also determine the promotion and relegation between the leagues. As it was the first use of the new process, teams were allocated to the three leagues based on their ICC member status, ODI status and rank from the 2017–2019 ICC World Cricket League.

The main route for qualification is the 2020–23 Super League tournament. From the thirteen competitors in this tournament, the top seven sides plus the hosts will qualify for the World Cup. The remaining five teams, along with five Associate sides, will proceed to the 2023 Qualifier, from which two teams will go through to the final tournament.

References From :-