Indian National Flag(तिरंगा )- The Pride Of India

Indian National Flag

The team of EncycloIndia wishes a very Happy Independence Day to all our readers. May our nation rise to the utmost glory and always remember the sacrifice of the people who protected our freedom. We are releasing a new article on the occasion of Independence day. This article will provide information about the history of the Indian National Flag and also contains the proper way to treat the pride of India.

Now let’s begin the article on the “Indian National Flag”

The Indian National Flag commonly known as “Tirangaa” means Tricolor. It is called Tricolor because it contains three colors- Indian Saffron (केसरिया), White (सफ़ेद), Indian Green (हरा). 

The Tricolor also contains a  wheel at the center of the flag which has 24 spokes and is navy blue in color. 

Did You Know ? 

The National Flag of India is based on the Swaraj Flag designed by Pingalli Venkayya. 
Indian National Flag
The Hind Swaraj Flag

Laws of making the Indian National Flag

Readers, I bet that you have never heard of making Tirangaa.

By law, the Tiranga flag is to be made of Khadi. The manufacturing process and specifications for the flag are laid out by the Bureau of Indian standards. The right to manufacture the flag is held by the Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission.

As of 2009, The Karnataka Khadi Gramodaya Samyukta Sangha has been the Sole- Manufacturer of the Flag.


There are certain specifications regarding the National Flag Of India. 

According to the flag code of India, the Indian Flag has a width:length aspect ratio of 3:2. All three horizontal bands of flag must be equally sized. The Ashok Chakra must have 24 evenly spaced spokes.

Specifications regarding Colors

Below is the list of alls hades specified for the The National Flag Of India 

Color schemeIndia saffron (Kesari)WhiteGreenNavy Blue
Pantone130 U000 C2258 C2735 C
RGB255, 153, 51255, 255, 25519, 136, 80, 0, 128

What do the colors symbolize in the Indian National Flag ? 

Do you Know ?

At first the Swaraj Flag colors symbolized differently as of now. At first the Kesari color symbolizes Hindus, Green color symbolizes Muslims and the white symbolizes different communities.

And the Charkha-spinning wheel symbolizes Gandhi Ji’s goal of making India self-reliant.

Later its meaning were changed as of we know now, as 

Saffron (Kesari)- Courage and Sacrifice

White- Peace and Truth

Green- Faith and Chivalry

Ashok Chakra- eternal wheel of Law

Punishment for disrespecting the Indian National Flag 

There are certain punishments for disrespecting the Indian National Flag which are described under the National Honor Act of 1971.

This Act may be called the Prevention of Insults to National Honor Act, 1971.It extends to the whole of India. The Indian National Flag or the Constitution of India or any part thereof, shall be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend to three years, or with fine, or with both.

References From :-