The third last team of the IPL 2021….is PBKS


PBKS(Punjab Kings) was the team who came in the bottom three in IPL 2021.

Punjab Kings is a franchise cricket team playing in IPL tournaments. It is based in Mohali, Punjab. It was established in 2008 and is owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. 

This team has played an IPL final in the 2014 season since then this team has made just one other playoff appearance in 14 seasons of IPL.

The captain of the team is Mayank Agarwal and the current coach is Anil Kumble. Its home ground is in Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

The Punjab Kings was previously known as the Kings XI Punjab. It was rebranded after 14 seasons in 2021.

Punjab Kings was Banned from IPL in a  controversy surrounding the BCCI and Lalit Modi in 2010.

Later this team was reinstated with the involvement of the Mumbai High Court.

PBKS’s performance in the IPL over the years :-

YearMatches PlayedMatches WonMatches LostNo ResultWin Percentage

The PBKS reached the IPL finals in 2014 as Australia T20 captain George Bailey was leading the squad and other notable players like Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell,  Mitchell Johnson were in the team.

This franchise won their first five games in the IPL which was organized in UAE due to elections. They made a way to the finals against KKR and lost due to Manish Pandey’s  94 of 50 balls and KKR was able to win the finals by three wickets.

In the 2016 season this team was led by David Miller and Murali Vijay in the first and second half respectively.

The team finished at eighth position in which Murali Vijay was the top scorer with 453 runs and Sandeep Sharma was the top wicket taker with 15 wickets.

In IPL 2021 Punjab Kings, one of the eight teams competing in the IPL, got only 6 wins out of 14 matches and finished at sixth position  in the tournament.

This team has never won any IPL title in 14 seasons. Lets see this year will the history repeat itself or a new history will be written.

PBKS’s squad in IPL 2022 is given below:-


Know more about IPL 2022