QUAD (Quadrilateral Security Dialogue)


Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrived in Japan for the Quad Summit, this news is flashing on every news channel. The country China has said that it is “doomed to fall” for QUAD. 

Guys, do you even know what QUAD is ? What is their mission ? Which countries are a part of it ? To answer all these questions.

Here’s the answer to all your questions about QUAD.   

QUAD members
QUAD Members

Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (QSD) casually or commonly called QUAD is a strategic security dialogue between four countries. The countries are India, Japan, Australia, and the United States (US). It was initiated in 2007. The Prime Minister of Japan, Shinzo Abe with the support of Prime Minister of India in 2007, Dr. Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister of Australia John Howard and the Vice President of the United States, Dick Cheney initiated it.

The Exercise Malabar was a joint military exercise parallel to the dialogue. It was widely viewed as a response to increased Chinese economic and military power. The Chinese responded by a formal diplomatic protest calling it “Asian NATO”. 

It ended with the withdrawal of Australia during the tenure of Kevin Rudd as the Prime Minister of Australia. 

All the four members agreed to revive the quadrilateral alliance in 2017. This happened when all the members were present during ASEAN Summits in Manila led by Abe, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Prime Minister of Australia Malcolm Turnbull and the President of the United States Donald Trump.  It was revived in order to counter China militarily and diplomatically in the “Indo-Pacific” region.

In response to COVID-19, They held a first Quad Plus meeting that included representatives from South Korea, New Zealand, and Vietnam to work in its response. The participation of representatives was seen as another attempt to expand the importance of it as well as the growing threat China posed in the region.