Shakti Peethas- The Source of Living Energy


Shakti Peethas are the pilgrimages of Hindus, in these temples the goddesses are worshipped. The word Shakti means “Strength” and the peetha means “seat”. So, the place is ultimately called Shakthi Peethas means “Seat of Shakti”.

It is believed that a sight of the Shakti Peetha will fill you with positive energy. Many devotees came from all over India to get this positive energy. So that they can face challenges in life. 

Guys Do you know the story of Shakti Peeths ? Well, if you don’t we are here to tell you.

There are many stories regarding the Shakti Peeths but the most famous and most known one is the story of Mata Sati.

The Story of Shakti Peeth 

Mata Sati was the first wife of Lord Shiva, also known as Mahadev, Neelkanth, Mahakaal etc. Mata Sati was the daughter of the King Daksha, who refused to consider Lord Shiva as a god. He was a very arrogant person who was totally blinded by money and status.

One day, King Daksha organised a ritual known as “Havan” and invited all the gods except Lord Shiva. Mata Sati also wanted to go in the holy ritual but Lord Shiva stopped her and told her that they are not invited. But she still went to the ritual saying that, “a daughter doesn’t need an invitation to go to her father’s house “. After she reached there King Daksh disrespected her and Lord Shiva in front of all gods. The gods tried to stop him but his arrogance has taken over his brain. As a result, she burned herself and died in the hall where the ritual was happening. After the news reached Lord Shiva, he was very furious and angry and summoned “Rudra”. Rudra attacked the city of King Daksha and destroyed his whole army and at last beheaded him. 

After that, Lord Shiva took the body of Mata Sati and roamed around the universe with it. Shiva performed the tandava, the celestial dance of destruction. The gods were frightened and requested Lord Vishnu to intervene. To protect the world Lord Vishnu used his sudarshan chakra on Devi Sati’s corpse. The parts of Sati’s body fall at several points across the world.

The body shattered into 51 pieces and the point where they fell at the land,  the places became the Shakthi peethas.  

These religious sites hold a very important significance in both Shaivism and Shaktism.   

Most of these temples are situated in India but after the partition of India. Now, the seven Shakti Peethas are in Bangladesh, Three are in Pakistan, Three in Nepal, one in Tibet as well as Sri Lanka. 

The four major Shakti Peethas are recognised as Adi Shakti Peethas by the great religious texts like the Shiva Purana, The Devi Bhagavata, the Kalika Purana, the AshtaShakti and the Pithanirnaya Tantra.

The four Adi Shakti Peethas are

Four Adi Shakti Peethas
Adi-Shakti Peetha

Bimala Temple

Tara Tarini

Kamakhya Temple

Kalighat Kali Temple

In Adi Shankaracharya’s Ashta Dasa Shakthi Peetha Stotram recognises 18 locations known as Maha Shakthi Peethas.

The 18 Maha Shakti Peethas are 

Shankari Temple 

Kamakshi Amman Temple


Chamundeshwari Temple

Jogulamba Devi

Bhramaramba Mallikarjuna Temple

Mahalakshmi Temple

Renuka Temple


Kukkuteswara Swamy Temple

Biraja Temple

Bheemeshwara Temple

Kamakhya Temple

Alopi Devi Mandir

Jwalamukhi Temple

Mangla Gauri Temple

Vishalakshi Temple

Sharada Peeth

Other Shakti Peethas are listed as per Sankara Samhita of Sri Skanda Purana.

Sri Sankari Peetham  

Sri Simhika Peetham

Sri Manika Peetham

Sri Shadkala Peetham

Sri Bhramaramba Peetham 

Sri Vijaya Peetham

Sri Mahalakshmi Peetham

Sri Kamakshi Peetham

Sri Kuchananda Peetham

Shri Viraja Peetham

Sri Bhadreshwari Peetham

 Sri Mahakali Peetham

Sri Vidhyavasini Peetham

Sri Mahayogi Peetham

Sri Kanayaka Peetham 

Sri Vishalakshi Peetham

Sri Saraswati Peetham

Sri Abhirami Peetham

Sri Sarala Peetham

Among all the Shakti Peethas the Shakti Peethas at Kamakhya, Gaya and Ujjain are regarded as the most sacred. They symbolise the important aspects or features of the Mother Goddess.

Creator- Kamarupa Devi, Nourisher- Sarvamangala Devi or Mangalagauri, and Annihilator or Destroyer- Mahakali Devi.

Shakti Peethas on India’s Map

In hindu mythology Lord Shiva is worshipped as Jyotirlingas.

Click on to know more about The 12 Jyotirlingas of Mahadev