The illegally Terminated team of the IPL

Deccan Chargers

The team which was illegally terminated from the IPL was Deccan chargers, the previous owner of Hyderabad Franchise.

Deccan Chargers was a cricket franchise that plays in the IPL. 

The owners of Deccan Chargers were Deccan Chronicle Ltd. This franchise was one of the first 8 franchises declared by the BCCI to play in the IPL. It was founded in 2008 after the declaration of IPL in 2007. 

They came last in the IPL 2008, which was the first IPL season. But they won the second IPL season which was held in 2009 under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist.

Deccan Chargers

Its home ground was Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. 

The Performance of Deccan Chargers in the IPL is given below :-

Years Matches PlayedMatches WonMatches LostWin PercentagePosition
20081421214 %8
2009169756 %1
2010168850 %4
2011146842 %7
20121541126.67 %8

In September 2012, this team was banned for breaching the BCCI terms. 

After that, SUN Network won the franchise of Hyderabad on 25 October 2012. It was named as Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) . 

In 2020, The Bombay court ruled that  the termination of Deccan Chargers was illegal. DeccanChronicle Ltd was awarded a compensation of 4,817.67 crore Rupees plus 10 % interest  from 2012 by the BCCI. 

The First team of Deccan chargers include:-

Adam Gilchrist

Andrew Symonds

Rohit Sharma

Scott Styris

Herschelle Gibbs

R.P. Singh

Nuwan Zoysa

Pragyan Ojha

Chaminda Vaas

Venugopal Rao

RPragyan Ojha

Shahid Afridi