The Underachievers Of The IPL


The underachievers of IPL are Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

RCB is a cricket franchise who play in the IPL. It was  founded in 2008 along with the IPL. It is owned by United Spirits Limited. It was named after one of their liquor  brands” Royal Challenge”.

RCB  has never won any IPL season. They’ve been to the playoffs 3 times between 2009 and 2016.

This IPL team has been given a tag “underachievers” because they have never won any season despite having notable players like Virat Kohli , AB de Villers etc. 

RCB holds the record of the highest score (263/5) as well as the lowest score (49) in the IPL.

The captain of RCB is Faf du Plessis in IPL 2022. The Coach of RCB is Sanjay Bangar.

The home ground of RCB is in M Chinnaswamy Stadium which has a capacity of 35,000 people.

This year RCB will play for the breaking the records of losing the IPL seasons.

This year IPL 2022 RCB’s squad is given below:-

RCB 2022

The Bangalore franchise was purchased by Vijay Malya for $111.6 million. It was the second highest bid for a team next only to Reliance Industries who made a bid for Mumbai Indians.

The brand value for Royal Challenger Bangalore was estimated to be 595 crore rupees in 2019.

Royal Challengers Bangalore has the rivalry with Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders the rivalry with Chennai turns with Kaveri river dispute between states of Karnataka and Tamilnadu.

 The Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL final 2011 this was the only meeting between the two teams at IPL final.

This franchise has a crazy fan following in the IPL. This franchise has a new captain for this IPL season because former captain Virat Kohli voluntarily stepped down from being the captain of the franchise. In IPL 2022 Faf du Plessis has been given the chance of being the captain of RCB.

Last year RCB was able to reach the playoffs and ended up being at third place.

The points table of RCB over the years is given below:-

YearMatches PlayedMatches WonMatches Lost No Result

know more about IPL 2022