Ramayana Circuit- The Rouney of Lord Ram

Ramayana Circuit

Ramayana circuit is the circuit of railway lines built under Swadesh Darshan scheme. It is an effort of the government to promote religious tourism. 

In Hindu mythology, Lord Ram travelled across India in order to find his wife Goddess Sita

This travelling circuit covers the destinations Lord Ram reached in order to find Goddess Sita.

In order to save his wife Lord Rama travelled more than 7,500 Km and reached “Lanka” which is now Sri Lanka. 

Lord Rama defeated the demon Ravan and saved his wife. The destinations covered by Lord Rama are now pilgrimages for hindus. 

The Ramayan circuit is buid to travel those pigrimages.

The Ramayana Circuit will cover 10 states of India and 15 destinations :-

Uttar Pradesh :- Ayodhya, Shringverpur and Chitrakoot

Bihar :- Sitamarhi, Buxar and Darbhanga

Madhya Pradesh :- Chitrakoot

West Bengal :- Nandigram

Odisha :- Mahendragiri

Chhattisgarh :– Jagdalpur

Telangana :– Bhadrachalam 

Tamil Nadu :- Rameshwaram

Karnataka :- Hampi    

Maharashtra :- Nashik and Nagpur

The committee responsible for forming the blueprint of Ramayan Circuit is Ramayan Circuit National Committee. Mahesh Sharma is the head of this committee.   

The first step towards the Ramayana Circuit was taken by the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath when he agreed to clear 20 acres of land to build a Ramayana Museum in Ayodhya. 

First Train of Ramayan Circuit
First train Of the Ramayana Circuit

This scheme is the joint efforts of the states and central government. It creates many opportunities for local artisans as it promotes local art. 

It was proposed in the 2014-2015 budget to enhance the Incredible India 2.0 Campaign. The campaign was launched to make India an attractive tourist spot. It will also help in gaining good revenue out of the tourist market.